Balance your Chakra Centers

We All Have Seven Chakra Centers

Aware or not, each person has seven chakra, or energy centers, in their body. Each has an associated color and focus; when or more are out of balance, the entire system becomes stressed. These imbalances commonly manifest as personality disorders and/or physical illnesses which can be healed if discovered and treated.

The First Chakra

As in the colors of the rainbow, the chakra colors are: red, orange, yellow, green and pink, blue, indigo, and violet. The red, or root chakra, is located at the base of the spine. Associated with one’s sense of survival: food, shelter, and safety, a person with a healthy root chakra will feel “grounded”. Those that are unbalanced can find some healing by walking barefoot to connect to the Earth. Eating foods that grow underground can also help, as can any foods which are red in color.

The Second Chakra

Moving up the body, the orange, or sacral chakra, is located just below the navel. Sexuality, as well as the flow of emotional energy, resides here. When the sacral chakra is out of balance, a person may feel a sense of fear and dis-ease, as opposed to a state of satisfaction and well being. In addition to listening closely to emotions that come up, eating foods which are orange in color can help energy flow more freely through this chakra. Pelvic thrust exercises are also helpful.

The Third Chakra

The solar plexus is next in line, located in the upper abdomen. Associated with the color yellow, this chakra is one’s personal power seat and houses creativity. When you are able to express your true calling in life through work or play, you will feel satisfied and excited to awake. If creativity is lacking, depression can easily set in. Movements which flex the abdomen, especially creative dancing, can be beneficial in reopening the energetic flow, as can eating yellow colored foods such as corn and squash.


The Fourth Chakra

Two colors are associated with the heart chakra: pink and green. Pink represents love and green represents healing. Located in the chest near the heart, a person with a healthy heart chakra will have a deep ability to love and be loved by others. If a feeling of abundant love is absent, any opportunity to open to compassion for another, including animals, can enhance the flow of Universal Love. Eating any green colored food is also indicated.

The Fifth Chakra

Our ability to communicate is housed in the throat chakra. Centered in the throat and associated with the color blue, being able to express feelings verbally creates a healthy energy center here. For those that need help communicating, singing and chanting can work miracles, even if preformed completely alone. Fruits of all kinds can help open the throat chakra, as can juices and teas.

The Sixth Chakra

The color indigo represents the third eye chakra, located directly between the eyebrows. When one is in touch with their natural sense of intuition, their third eye is said to be “open”. If not, a person may have difficulties making decisions and thinking clearly. Eye exercises and certain essential oils applied directly to the third eye zone can help, as can forward bending yoga positions and the consumption of purple colored fruits.

The Seventh Chakra

Our seventh main chakra center is known as the crown chakra, located on the top of the head, it’s color violet. A healthy crown chakra will leave a person feeling fully connected to their divine inner presence and give a sense of bliss. Meditation can help, as can surrounding oneself in a clean, healthy environment.

Balancing our chakras can lead to great improvements in the overall quality of our lives. By following simple steps, the road to peace and happiness can be just a bit clearer for each of us.